Elephant Oil Cap!

The elusive Elephant oil cap!

Kris gave this to me for Christmas and I couldn’t wait to put it on!
I remember first seeing one of these – Kris mentioned this little gem when he had the 510.
There it sat atop the L20 valve cover. Proud.
But is it about the Elephant oil cap that makes it so.. special?!

A few tidbits:

– These caps weren’t used on the US models, but on the Japanese / Aussie models.
– So supposedly it text translates something to the tune of: “Please pour Elephant Oil” – haha that’s cute
– Elephant branded oil and lubricants from Nissan pre-dates the 240z.
– The elephant was used as a symbol to commemorate successes in the East African Safari Rally.

 

3 Replies to “Elephant Oil Cap!”

  1. Both of my 260Zs had these caps…both were original US cars. One is a 40,000 mile garage-find that was untouched since 1979. From this I ocnclude they WERE indeed used on US-spec Datsuns, including post-240Z.

    1. Thanks for the info Mike! It’s a wonder these things are seeped in it’s own lore. My ’77 was also original, but it had the normal “OIL” cap. I’m guessing if both caps were used in the US spec, there wasn’t that much in the way of consistency control. :] Thanks for the comment!

      1. idk…my ’78 280Z has a cap that says “NISSAN MOTOR” on it, but the shape is the same as the elephant cap…and the only S30s I’ve seen with it thus far are 260Zs….so I’m not sure what the deal is.

Leave a Reply

