Zpotted: AC’s deep cherry 280z

AC and his 77 280z - Daily DatsunWe were visiting friends the other day month and spotted a nice looking 280z in their parking lot. I was admiring pretty hard, peaking in the windows, checking out the upper door chrome (more on that later). I guess I was checking it out TOO much because soon after I walked away, a lady comes out and stares at me like neighborhood watch.

I’m in my car, typing some notes… then a guy comes out, occasionally glares in my direction. They mull about getting closer and closer, looking at me ever so often. I finally get out of the car to go talk to them, find out what’s up, and he motions me over (ah ha! must be the owner).

Come to find out he was the Z’s owner and we smoothed everything out – even more so, got to know him and his 280z…

Here’s AC and his work-in-progress ’77 Datsun 280z. He’s owned it for 21 years. The paint is new and looks great. You can tell he’s got great care and concern for his Z.

He said he’s driven this car all over: Reno, SoCal… even to Tijuana, Mexico!

Since we owned the same model year, we had a bit to talk about… like smog.

 

AC's 77 280z - Daily Datsun

AC's 77 280z - Daily Datsun

He continues to rock the mucho solid bumpers. After talking, I’ll be selling him the rubber sides for the bumpers I have.

AC's 77 280z - Daily Datsun

AC's 77 280z - Daily Datsun

Whoa – what?! so THAT’S what 280z door/river gutter chrome trim looks like! I must have marveled at this piece for a good while.

AC's 77 280z - Daily Datsun

Check out the engine bay! See those red plates? Heat shields! They must be dealer installed because I don’t remember seeing that in the factory service manual. Just when you think you’ve seen them all, there’s always something new! … huh, which might explain why my fluid has been disappearing (no, no leaks here).

Great paint, mesh wheels, keepin it clean. You can tell AC really loves his Z, and it shows in his careful / patient restoration.

About justinyee

engineer, musician, designer, artist, dreamer, positive attitude w/ best intentions, critic and friend. i believe in truth, justice, beauty, and above all: love. View all posts by justinyee

Leave a Reply

a 280z restoration one morning at a time

JDMGALLERY

a 280z restoration one morning at a time

Dirty S30

a 280z restoration one morning at a time

mister240z

Looking through the lens with rods and cones.

hungry4horsepower

life on wheels

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

pipithepig

Just another WordPress.com site

